Hank Azaria

Hank Azaria

Henry Albert Azaria (ə-ZAIR-ee-ə) is an American actor, comedian, and writer. He is known for voicing many characters in the animated sitcom The Simpsons (1989–present), most notably Moe Szyslak, Chief Wiggum, Comic Book Guy, Snake Jailbird, and formerly Apu Nahasapeemapetilon, Lou, Carl Carlson, and Bumblebee Man, among others. He joined the show with little voice acting experience, but became a regular in its second season, with many of his performances on the show being based on famous actors and characters. For his work, he has won six Emmy Awards and a Screen Actors Guild Award. Azaria is also known for his live-action roles in feature films such as The Birdcage (1996), Godzilla (1998), Mystery Men (1999), America's Sweethearts (2001), Shattered Glass (2003), Along Came Polly (2004), Run Fatboy Run (2007), Night at the Museum: Battle of the Smithsonian (2009), The Smurfs (2011), and The Smurfs 2 (2013). He starred as the title character in Brockmire (2017–2020) and had recurring roles on the television series Mad About You and Friends, as the title character in the drama series Huff (2004–2006), and appeared in the popular stage musical Spamalot, for which he received a nomination for the Tony Award for Best Actor in a Musical. Originally known as a comedic actor, he has also taken on more dramatic roles, including in Tuesdays with Morrie (1999) and Uprising (2001).


Guest Appearances