Iggy Pop: Post Pop Depression: Live At the Royal Albert Hall
Iggy Pop's show at the Royal Albert Hall on May 13th 2016 has been described as "the performance of a lifetime". Pop had recorded the album Post Pop Depression with Joshua Homme of Queens Of The Stone Age (who produced and co-wrote the record) as a highly personal and introspective reflection back on his career to date. Post Pop Depression is the 17th Iggy Pop album-and the first to be co-created with producer/guitarist/songwriter/multi-instrumentalist/bandleader Homme. It was recorded in seclusion in Homme's home studio in the Californian desert, and he enlisted support for the recording from his Queens Of The Stone Age bandmate & Dead Weather-man Dean Fertita, and Arctic Monkeys' drummer Matt Helders. Joined on stage by something of a super-group featuring Homme, Fertita, Helders, Troy Van Leeuwen of Queens Of The Stone Age, and guitar legend Matt Sweeney, Iggy storms through a selection of tracks from Post Pop Depression and his 1977 David Bowie-produced albums The Idiot and Lust For Life. The Royal Albert Hall was packed to capacity and Iggy performed one of the standout shows of his career. The Post Pop Depression backing band supported Pop's punk antics with a rock 'n' roll homage of their own to a true original. An unmissable musical event, which was hailed by The Sunday Telegraph as one of the best gigs the reviewer had ever seen.
Starring Iggy Pop, Emer Patten, Nick Wickham
Director Iggy Pop