Scott Silver

Scott Silver

Silver was the co-executive producer for another independent favorite, Mark Waters' black comedy "The House of Yes," about a dysfunctional family. He directed and co-wrote 1999's film version of the popular Aaron Spelling series "The Mod Squad," starring Claire Danes, Omar Epps and Giovanni Ribisi as the titular delinquents turned cops. A highly stylized take on the story, with elements of the original late 60s-early 70s scene injected, "The Mod Squad" did poorly with critics, who questioned the relevance of revisiting such an era-specific and unrealistic program. Quite a departure from "johns," the film lacked his previous effort's genuine edginess and sincerity.